Frank Rose

By Debra Ferrell

Caswell Messenger Editor

After a long, hard campaign of spending 12 hour days meeting voters coming in for early voting, Republican Frank Rose defeated his opponent Tony Smith for the Caswell County Commissioner District 1 seat during the November 8 election. (Unofficial results) with five out of five precincts reporting at 9:30 p.m. Tuesday night, Rose was showing 851 votes with 55.30%. Smith had 688 votes with 44.70%.

Tim Yarbrough was running unopposed for District 5. He got 1,422 votes.

Finch Holt was running unopposed for District 2. He got 1,176 votes.

Sheriff Tony Durden who was running unopposed retained his seat with 5,928 votes.

Court Clerk John I. Satterfield retained his seat with 5,650 votes.

Watch next week’s issue of The Caswell Messenger to read more results from this hot contest.

Officials say there was a good turnout of voters this year even though it was a non-presidential election.