BY Graduation

BYSHS Principal Lance Stokes leads the way for graduates on Saturday. He is directly followed by Caswell County Schools Superintendent Dr. Sandra Carter and Piedmont Community College President Dr. Pamela Senegal. The ceremony was held in two parts to allow for plenty of social distancing.

Both ceremonies for the Bartlett Yancey Senior High School 2021 graduation went off without a hitch Saturday morning on the football field in Yanceyville.

Practice on Friday had the graduates well prepared for the ceremonies.

VFW Post 7116 kicked things off with the presentation of colors along with the National Anthem.

Grace Watlington, Student Council Vice President, spoke of how the pandemic had changed people’s lives and routines. Despite the storms of life, students have learned many things that will help them succeed as they move on to the next stage, whether that be work, college, trade school, military, etc. “It changed our normal routine,” she said. “But we’ve forged bonds that will carry us through life.”

Jada McCain, Student Council Treasurer, introduced members of the Caswell County Board of Education and welcomed Principal Lance Stokes to the podium.

Stokes explained how he was happy to see the class united rather than “scattered” as they have been the past 15 months. He told the class how he was confident they would be doing great things and thanked them for embracing his vision. “Dream big, have a plan, and execute it. If you fail to plan, then you plan to fail.”

Tamia Ross, extended thanks to the family, friends and staff who helped graduates get to this place in life. She congratulated fellow graduates and reminded them to “celebrate your accomplishments.”

She added, “We’ve been through a lot the past four years and seen a change in the environment, authority, and staff.”

Virtual classes on ZOOM have become familiar parts of the school day. “We survived the pandemic and Friday night lights waiting to see if we’d have a season. I knew we’d be a special class and go beyond what we’re capable of. Take time to live in the moment and don’t rush to grow up…it gets worse than this. Never forget your lasting relationships.”

Emma Jones, Student Council Secretary, praised everyone’s parents for helping shape their children and challenging them every day to be the best. “It’s been a very difficult year for all of us and we couldn’t have made it without sacrifices and hard work. Thank you for your endless love.”

Marcellus Abbott, Student Council President, explained how the class has overcome many obstacles including the pandemic, quarantine, virtual learning, and being separated from their friends and classmates. “But we found a way to keep in touch. We have the potential to do great things. This is just the beginning. We all have our own paths to walk as we strive for greatness. Whatever we do, we will always be Buccaneers.”

The class song of “Congratulations” by Post Malone provided a nice interlude before diplomas were presented. Caswell County School Superintendent Dr. Sandra Carter presented the declaration of status proclaiming the class as graduates!

Dr. Pamela Senagal, President of Piedmont Community College presented Associate Degrees to several of the students.


College/University Scholarships:

Averett University Presidential Scholarship Recipient - Grace Watlington

Averett University Academic Enhancement Scholarship Recipient - Grace Watlington

Averett University Legacy Award Recipient - Grace Watlington

Averett University Founders’ Scholarship Recipient - Rayla Meadows

Lees McRae Pinnacle Merit Scholarship Recipient - Rylie Webster

Lees McRae Honors Scholarship Recipient - Rylie Webster

University of North Carolina Wilmington’s Merit Scholarship Recipient- Jessica Fowler

Radford University’s Highlander Academic Scholarship Recipient - Brooke Williamson 

Elbert H. & Evelyn J. Waldron Endowed Scholarship Recipient - Brooke Williamson

William Peace University’s Basketball and Track Scholarships - Jada Davis

Carolina Covenant Scholarship Recipient - Tamia Ross

UNCG Chancellor Scholarship Recipient - Jada McCain

Spartan Scholarship - Jada McCain

Pitt Community College Foundation General Scholarship Recipient - Blake Solomon

William J White Baseball Scholarship Recipient - Blake Solomon

University of Wyoming Brown and Gold Commitment Scholarship - Hunter McCollum

Piedmont Community College Scholarships:

Ruth Martin Owen Memorial Scholarship Recipient of $1030 - Gavin Pleasant

W. Henry Hicks Endowment Scholarship.Recipient of $854 - Vanessa Noel

Pacer Promise Scholarship Recipient - Nia Barksdale

Trustee’s Scholarship Recipient of $1500 - Jamison Johnson

Foundation Scholarship Recipient of $1000 - Emaleigh Coley

Private Scholarships:

Ray Chandler Memorial Scholarship Recipient - Hailey Rimmer

Modern Woodman Make An Impact Award Recipient - Katherine Wallace

State Employees Credit Union People Helping People Scholarship Recipients - Storm Jones and Sarah Kate Watlington

Local Scholarships:

Dan River Community Foundation 

Elizabeth Whitlow Reith Price R.N. Whitlow Family Nursing Scholarship

Emma Jones

Rotary Club of Yanceyville Scholarship

Gavin Pleasant

Plumbee Scholarship

Sarah Watlington

Golden Leaf Scholarship Recipient - Jada McCain

The Piedmont Electric Scholarship Recipient - Emma Jones

Dwight Wayne Dabbs Memorial Scholarship Recipient - Emma Jones

Lauren Joy Chandler Beginning Teacher Scholarship Recipient - Vanessa Noel

2021 Alpha Delta Kappa Teaching Scholarship Recipient -  Vanessa Noel

Clydia S. Battle & Mel Ott Battle II, Scholarship Recipient - Marcellus Abbott

North Carolina Association of Educators’ Scholarship Recipient - Vanessa Noel

Aubrey Lee Brooks Scholarship Recipient - Sarah Watlington 

The Links, Incorporated Scholarship Recipient - Sean Ferrell

Alpha Phi Omega Chapter of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. Scholarship Recipient - Sean Ferrell

John Yancey Gatewood Scholarship Recipient - Emma Jones

James B. Millner Scholarship Recipient - Tamia Ross

 C.C. Cole Scholarship Recipient - Vanessa Noel

John O. and Annie Gunn Scholarship Recipient - Cara Lynch

Dorothy Zimmerman Scholarship Recipient - Tamia Ross

PCC Scholarships

Gavin Pleasant- Ruth Martin Owen Memorial Scholarship- $1,030

Vanessa Noel- W. Henry Hicks Endowment Scholarship.- $854

Nia Barksde- Pacer Promise Scholarship

Jamison Johnson- Trustee’s Scholarship. $1,500

Emaleigh Coley- Foundation Scholarship- $1,000