Bartlett Yancey High senior track standout Najawuan Johnson had a big day this past Saturday at the NCHSAA Mideast 2A Regionals, held on the UNC-Pembroke campus in Pembroke. Johnson earned the Regional championship in the 100 meter dash, running an 11.17 second time to outlast South Granville’s Dominic Deloatch in a photo finish. Deloatch came in just one one-hundredth of a second behind Johnson, with a time of 11.18 seconds.

During the preliminaries, Johnson placed second among all participating runners in the 100 meter dash, with a time of 11.19 seconds. He bested his preliminary time by two hundredths of a second in the finals.

Bartlett Yancey also qualified its boy’s 4x100 relay squad to the Regionals. The team, consisting of Johnson, Joe Durdan, Malachi Gwynn, and Lavonte Chandler, finished in fifth place with a time of 44.95 seconds in the finals. The Buccaneers defeated eight of the 13 schools participating in the 4x100 finals, but were behind Whiteville (44.10 seconds), Randleman (44.24 seconds), Graham (44.57 seconds), and Oxford Webb (44.74 seconds).

In the boy’s 4x200 meter finals, BY placed in fourth place overall, with a combined time of 1 minute, 33.98 seconds. Johnson didn’t run with the Buccaneers in the 4x200 event, as Damontez Branch joined forces with Gwynn, Durdan, and Chandler. Though the Bucs outdid nine other schools, they were beaten in the 4x200 meter relay event by first place Reidsville (1 minute, 31.36 seconds), as well as second place East Bladen (1 minute, 32.76 seconds), and third place Fairmont (1 minute, 33.98 seconds).

BY also sent its 4x200 girl’s relay squad - consisting of seniors Jasmine Graves and Janae Johnson, junior Anyia Muldrow, and sophomore Simyah Jeffers - to Pembroke, where the Buccaneers posted a sixth place finish.

Bartlett Yancey’s time of 1 minute, 53.33 seconds was better than six other participating schools, but was behind first place Cummings (1 minute, 44.80 seconds), second place Reidsville (1 minute, 49.10 seconds), third place Whiteville (1 minute, 50.02 seconds), fourth place Carrboro (1 minute, 52.85 seconds), and fifth place Durham School of the Arts (1 minute, 52.91 seconds).