The Mid-State 2A Athletic Conference recently announced its boys soccer All-Conference teams for the 2019 season. 

Bartlett Yancey placed a slew of players on the all-conference teams. Junior striker Will McDowell and senior defender Joshua Smith both earned All-Conference First Team honors. McDowell finished the season with a team-high 35 goals, good enough for second in the conference, and also added 10 assists. Smith scored four goals and added six assists from the backfield. 

In addition, junior forward Aaron Johnson, senior defender Jacob Lunsford, junior midfielder Gustavo Lucas, senior midfielder Tommy Rios, freshman midfielder Federico “Kiko” Murillo, senior defender Trace Carter, senior forward Christian Mojica and senior goalkeeper Nick Campos all earned All-Conference Honorable Mention honors. 

Johnson appeared in all 23 games for BY (11-12, 3-9 Mid-State 2A) and scored six goals and added an assist. Lunsford played in 21 games for the Bucs while Lucas played in all 23 games, scoring three goals and adding six assists. Rios shined this season from the middle of the pitch, adding a team-high 15 assists while scoring nine goals and Murillo added two goals and six assists in 22 appearances for BY. Carter played in all 23 contests and added an assist. Mojica contributed five goals and three assists for the Bucs while Campos recorded 155 saves and four shutouts between the sticks. 

Closing out the all-conference awards was coach Lynn Massey’s selection as Mid-State 2A Coach of the Year. 

The awards didn’t stop at the conference level, however, as the Bucs placed six on the North Carolina Soccer Coaches Association All-Region team as well. 

McDowell, Smith, Rios and Murillo all earned All-Region honors while Lunsford and Carter each earned honorable mention honors as well. 

Concerning team honors, McDowell earned offensive player of the year honors while Smith collected defensive player of the year honors. In addition, Rios was named the team’s midfield player of the year while Carter received most improved and Lunsford picked up the coaches award. Murillo was named as the freshman of the year.